Fabulous Fruit Bread

This really does look good enough to eat even though I say it myself!  And of course you are getting some fresh berries which are wonderful for you.  The more berries the better.  I love nuts so I’ve used walnut pieces but I sometimes use toasted hazelnuts or almonds.  The base bread is fruit loaf and once you have made it pop it in the freezer and enjoy whenever you feel peckish.  Toasted with butter I love it for breakfast and afternoon tea.  It also makes a really decadent pudding if you add some vanilla ice cream and maple syrup.

Ingredients 

450g strong white flour

14g easy blend yeast

50g caster sugar

50g unsalted butter melted

150ml warm milk

1 beaten egg

oil for greasing the loaf tin

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon salt

Dried Fruit

50g dried chopped apricots

50g dried chopped figs

50g sultanas

50g chopped glace cherries

juice 1 orange

Method

To make the bread dough pop the flour, yeast, salt, sugar and spices into a bowl.

Mix well and add the dried fruit and orange juice

Make a well in the middle of the bowl and gently pour the warm milk into it followed by the melted butter and beaten egg

Mix everything together to form a dough and knead gently

Now it’s time to prove the dough so pop into a clean greased bowl and cover with a clean damp tea towel

Leave in a warm spot but not too warm for about 1 hour

Check the dough after 40 minutes and then place on a lightly floured surface

Knead gently and half the dough.  Pop in 2 x 2 lb loaf tins.  Pop the damp tea towel back over the loaf tins and leave in the warm spot for 20 minutes

Preheat the oven to 180 C / 356 F / Gas 4

Bake the bread for 20 minutes.  Check if it’s cooked by inserting a skewer into the middle of the loaf and if it comes out clean bingo!

Turn the loaf out of the tin and allow to cool

I slice my fruit loaf and gently fry a slice in butter I then pour some maple syrup over and decorate my plate with fresh sliced strawberries, raspberries and blueberries.  Add your favourite chopped nuts if you’d like to.

Enjoy!

Happy cooking

Trina

© Catriona Macdougall cookyourselfhappier.com, 2017

If you enjoyed this post please share and follow, thank you!

stumbleupon-logo new-facebook-like-button twitter-logo pinit instagram_button

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Oh my goodness that looks absolutely amazing! A breakfast fit for royalty!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. Best wishes. Happy cooking!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Elizabeth O. says:

    This looks so good! It’s definitely fabulous and I would love to make it for the family!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. Best wishes. Happy cooking!

      Like

  3. I absolutely love fruit bread. I had never thought about making myself! What a fantastic idea. I will attempt to make myself now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. Best wishes. Happy cooking!

      Like

  4. dearlydainty says:

    This looks amazing ! Ahh! Now I’m craving French toast ! Love this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Treat yourself it’s delicious. Happy cooking!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jenni Petrey says:

    This sounds and looks delicious. I love fruit bread so am definitely going to have to try making this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jenni. Please let me know how you get on. Best wishes. Happy Cooking!

      Like

  6. Omg can we say yum?!?! I must give this a try!!!!! Deliciousness

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Best wishes. Happy Cooking!

      Like

  7. Lovely blog! You’ve got some yummy treats on here…I’ll definitely have to try some of them out! Check out the 30 day baking challenge I did: https://masumahjannah.wordpress.com/2016/07/06/first-youtube-video-%f0%9f%8e%a5/
    30 days, 30 different desserts 😋

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much. Best wishes. Happy Cooking!

      Like

  8. Katie Rose says:

    That looks absolutely stunning!! Could you send me some over?! 🙂 Thanks for sharing, I’m inspired! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. Best wishes. Happy cooking!

      Like

Leave a Reply

