Fabulously Fruity Flapjack

This month I will be baking like a linty in aid of Bake for Bipolar 2017 to raise awareness for this great cause.  Bipolar UK is the national charity dedicated to supporting individuals affected by bi bipolar and raising awareness.  There is nothing better than having a cuppa and cake and a good blether with friends and family.  Taking the time to chat to someone can make all the difference in the world.  I know its an old saying but ‘a problem shared is a problem halved’ so if you know someone who has been quieter than usual or not quite themselves pop the kettle on and have a chat.  I used to be reluctant to talk about my problems and anxieties but to use a trusty cooking analogy I felt like a pressure cooker with my lid stuck down!  Instead of boiling and bubbling away I discovered when I talked to someone the pressure began to regulate and I felt more in control.

So to get this great event off to a flying start I’m going to make apricot and blueberry flapjack.  Apricots are bursting with vitamin C and fibre.  Blueberries are often referred to as a ‘Superfood’   packed with antioxidants and low in calories.  Like its fruity chum the apricot they also contain vitamin C.  I love porridge and often have it for breakfast with a banana so I always have a box of oats in my cupboard.  I read an article that said oats help to lower blood sugar and cholesterol levels which made me an even bigger fan.  You can serve this recipe as a fruity crumble pudding or traybake.

Serves 6

Ingredients

150g unsalted butter

150g golden syrup

1/2 teaspoon salt

180g rolled oats

8 ripe apricots cut into quarters and stoned (don’t worry if you can’t find fresh apricots you can used dried ones instead)

200g blueberries

2 tablespoons light muscovado sugar

Method

Preheat oven to 190 gas mark 5

Melt the butter in a small pan with the syrup and the salt.  Gently fold in the oats.

Pop the apricots and blueberries in an oven proof dish if serving as a pudding or lined and greased baking tray if you are tray baking it.

Sprinkle over the sugar then pop the flapjack mixture over the fruit.  Don’t worry if some of the fruit is poking through.

Bake for 30 minutes until the top is golden.

Serve straight from the oven with custard or cream or allow to cool and cut into portions as a teatime treat.

Happy cooking  If you enjoyed this post please share and consider adding to Stumble Upon

Trina

© Catriona Macdougall cookyourselfhappier.com, 2017

If you enjoyed this post please share and follow, thank you!

stumbleupon-logo new-facebook-like-button twitter-logo pinit instagram_button

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This sounds delicious! I guess it’s similar to what we call a cobbler in America.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I’ll check out cobbler! Best wishes and happy cooking.

      Like

Leave a Reply

