Cracking Kedgeree

As a child my Mum used to make this for me but I wasn’t a fan.  I wasn’t allowed to leave the table until I had finished my helping of fishy goodness and rice.  It was a battle of the wills and I always lost.  I must have got a taste for it because now I happily choose it from a menu and make it for myself.

Kedgeree is thought to have originated in India and was brought back to the UK by British colonials.  The victorians served it up as a breakfast dish.  Traditionally smoked haddock is used but I’ve made it with salmon before.  When I’ve cooked on sporting estates I’ve been asked to make it for breakfast.  I’m not sure if they were trying to recreate the lavish ways of the victorians or if they thought it would set them up for the day.

It’s delicious for breakfast, lunch or dinner and it doesn’t take long to make.  The cooking method is very similar to risotto, white basmati rice is used instead of arborio rice but hot stock is added to the pan to cook the rice.  You can add hard boiled eggs to the finished dish but I prefer a poached egg on top of my kedgeree.  The runny yolk is a real winner for me.

Haddock is an excellent source of protein and very low in fat.  It’s also packed full of B vitamins which are vital for good brain function.

Ingredients to serve 2

1 large smoked undyed haddock fillet

1 pint milk

225ml boiling water

1 onion chopped

200g white basmati rice

knob of butter

1 teaspoon curry powder.

2 free range eggs

2 tablespoons fresh chopped parsley

4 cardamon pods split

sea salt and ground black pepper.

img_0520

Method

To cook the fish place in an oven proof dish and cover the fillet in milk.  This is to gently poach the fish.  Put in the oven at 180 gas mark 4 for 20 minutes or until the fish begins to flake away when you touch it with a fork.

Take a large non stick frying pan and add the knob of butter.  Fry off the onion until soft.

img_0509

Add the curry powder and cardamon pods and stir well.  Add the rice and 225ml of boiling water.  Cook on a gentle heat until the rice is tender.  If you think the rice needs more water just add a smidgen at a time.

img_0536

Using a fork flake the haddock and add to the cooked rice.  Stir in the chopped parsley and season to taste.

img_0545

Finish the dish with a soft poached egg.

img_0555

Happy cooking  If you enjoyed this post please share and consider adding to Stumble Upon

Trina

© Catriona Macdougall cookyourselfhappier.com, 2017

 

If you enjoyed this post please share and follow, thank you!

stumbleupon-logo new-facebook-like-button twitter-logo pinit instagram_button

2 Comments Add yours

  1. porcheberry says:

    looks amazing, my son’s father is filipino so he makes it with garlic fried rice instead

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I must try making it with garlic fried rice. Sound delicious. Best wishes. Happy cooking!

      Like

Leave a Reply

